What are the 4 classes in Joomla?

Joomla is an open-source content management system (CMS) that allows users to construct effective websites and applications. It is a popular option for website owners because of its user-friendliness, adaptability, and range of features. One of the primary components of Joomla is its classes. In this post, we’ll look at the four classes in Joomla and how they are utilized.

What Are Joomla Classes?

Joomla classes are a way of categorizing code into particular categories that can then be called upon by the CMS. Classes are defined in the Joomla Framework, and there are four main classes that are used in the system. They are:

  • Model
  • View
  • Controller
  • Helper

These classes are employed to arrange code for various tasks related to the Joomla CMS. Let’s take a closer look at each one.


The Model class is responsible for dealing with the data related to a particular component. It comprises methods for recovering, manipulating, and storing data in the database. It also takes care of database queries and other database-related tasks.


The View class is responsible for producing the data that is returned by the Model class. It takes the data and formats it into a template, which is then displayed to the user. The View class is also responsible for handling user input and showing appropriate messages to the user.


The Controller class is responsible for managing user requests and routing them to the appropriate view. It is also responsible for managing sessions and managing user authentication.


The Helper class is responsible for providing utility functions, such as formatting data and performing calculations. It is also responsible for loading and initializing other classes.


Joomla classes are an essential part of the system, and they are responsible for arranging code and providing useful functions. Knowing the four primary classes in Joomla can help you better comprehend how the system works, and will enable you to create powerful websites and applications.